• Become a Fan!

  • The Proctor Farmer’s Market

  • Our Blog Archive

  • Share this Blog

    Share |
  • CSA

  • Our Most Popular Posts

  • Olympia Co-Op

LFO Volunteer Spotlight


Meet Seth Miller, a loyal volunteer at Left Foot since early August 2011.  Seth faithfully rides his bicycle to the farm 4 days a week to work with our crew members.  He has also helped out with the Tumwater Farmers Market several times and tabled the Capital Campus Combined Fund Drive event for us this year.  His dedication and reliable donation of time has been invaluable this fall as we worked through the busy harvesting season.   Here are a few words from Seth about his volunteer experience  over the past few months:

“My wife and I moved to Tumwater at the end of June for her new job with the Tumwater School District.  We began shopping at the Tumwater Farmers Market where I found out about Left Foot and I began to follow the farm’s Facebook page.  When a call went out for volunteers for a Wednesday morning in early August I decided I could help out while I was still in the process of looking for a new job.  I’ve been out almost every weekday morning since to help out.

 One of my favorite things about volunteering at the farm is that there is always something new to learn.  Though I spent many of my morning’s only harvesting zucchini and beans this summer I have appreciated the opportunity to learn about the lifecycle of a farm.

Since I have spent so many mornings at the farm, I have been able to better get to know some of the growers.  I really appreciate that I am often asked how my wife is enjoying her job or about my bike ride to the farm.  It has made for a very welcoming and inclusive work environment.  I enjoy how a farm offers jobs of all varying ability levels.  Even though I only have minimal experience gardening, it seems like there is always something I can do to help out.”

Thank you, Seth for being such a good friend to the farm and wonderful role model for us all.  Your time and contributions are very much appreciated.

If you, or someone you know, is looking for a memorable and fulfilling volunteer experience call Jill, the Volunteer Coordinator at 754-1849 for more information.

One Response

  1. Awesome work, Left Foot Farmers!

Leave a Reply

